BOOK REVIEW: GALÁPAGOS by KURT VONNEGUT

I thought I had read all the really good Vonnegut novels. Starting in the ‘60s I had read Cat’s Cradle, Slaughterhouse Five, The Sirens of Titan, Breakfast of Champions, Welcome to the Monkey House, God Bless You Mr. Rosewater, and more. But I was wrong. Although K.V. has long been perhaps my favorite author, it wasn’t until a friend on Goodreads reviewed Galàpagos that I finally became aware of it and got my hands on a copy.

I must say, it didn’t disappoint. It gives a unique perspective on evolution, while always maintaining the unmistakable and always entertaining Vonnegut voice. I love his jaundiced and very funny take on humankind. And, as I get older, my views become closer and closer to his. Without giving anything away, the basic premise is this: Everything that’s wrong with the world can be attributed to the oversized, over-active brains of humans. Very highly recommended – if you like this sort of thing.

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: GALÁPAGOS by KURT VONNEGUT

  1. Pingback: Galàpagos by Kurt Vonnegut Jr. (Book Review) | Flashbytes

  2. Pingback: Galàpagos by Kurt Vonnegut Jr. (Book Review) | Flashbytes

Leave a comment